top of page
  • SocPC

The Society Publishers’ Coalition elects first Council

The Society Publishers’ Coalition is pleased to announce the results of its first Council election. Elections were held in September to create a representative council to lead the Coalition’s work. Each membership organisation was given six votes, and only one representative per organisation voted. The election criteria required that Council must include at least one Humanities and Social Science (HSS) and one Science Technology and Medicine (STM) publishing member as well as at least one commercially published and one self-published member.

The Council, in alphabetical order: 

  • Rod Cookson (IWA Publishing, Self-published, STM)

  • Sally Hardy (Regional Studies Association, Commercial, HSS)

  • Catherine Hill (British Ecological Society, Commercial, STM)

  • Malavika Legge (Biochemical Society, Self-published, STM)

  • Tasha Mellins-Cohen (Microbiology Society, Self-published, STM)

  • Stuart Taylor (Royal Society, Self-published, STM)

Tasha Mellins-Cohen, Microbiology Society, said “I am excited to work with my Council colleagues to advance the work of the Society Publisher's Coalition. Society publishers have an important role to play in the future of scholarly communication, and by working together we can ensure our members and their needs are properly represented in discussions about the direction of travel."

The first Council meeting set out the terms of reference and agreed the Council structure, positions and individual tenures. Two officers have been appointed for the first six months of the Council.

Chair: Tasha Mellins-Cohen

Vice-Chair: Malavika Legge

Contact us for more information.

527 views0 comments


bottom of page